Displaying present location in the site.

Bits of Knowledge about Wheelchair Tennis - How to Enjoy Wheelchair Tennis

  1. Rule
    Other than the fact that two bounces of the ball are allowed before hitting it, the rules of wheelchair tennis are the same as those for regular tennis.
  2. Grades of the Tournaments
    There are various series by grade: Grand Slam (GS), Masters Series (MS), Super Series (SS), ITF1, ITF2, ITF3 and ITF Future.
  3. Determination of the Grades
    The grades of tournaments are determined by the ITF according to factors such as the size of the draw, participation by players with high world rankings, the tournament facilities (number of courts, availability of indoor facilities), tournament hotel accommodations and dining facilities, the degree of barrier-free facilities for moving players, local participation, etc.
  4. Member Nations
    About 60 countries are sanctioned by the International Tennis Federation International Wheelchair Tennis Association.

World Rankings

The rankings are for the best eight finishes within the previous year for men, the best six finishes for women and the best five finishes for quads.

Quads is an abbreviation of quadriplegia, and is a class for players with serious handicaps.

Wheelchair Tennis Rules