Please note that JavaScript and style sheet are used in this website,
Due to unadaptability of the style sheet with the browser used in your computer, pages may not look as original.
Even in such a case, however, the contents can be used safely.

2013 US Open Wheelchair Tennis Competition- Part of the NEC Wheelchair Tennis Tour -

*** For immediate use September 4, 2013

Tokyo, September 4, 2013 - NEC Corporation (NEC; TSE: 6701) announced today that 20 of the world's top wheelchair tennis players will participate in the US Open Wheelchair Tennis Competition in New York from September 5-8, 2013, the last of this year's four Grand Slam tournaments on the NEC Wheelchair Tennis Tour.

<<Fact sheet>>
  Event Name: US Open Wheelchair Tennis Competition
  Period: September 5-8, 2013
  Venue: USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center, Flushing, N.Y.
  Organizer: USTA (United States Tennis Association)

This is the first time that all eight top ranked men's singles players, all eight top women's singles players and all four ranked quad singles players are among the field of 20 players for the US Open Wheelchair Tennis Competition.

Shingo Kunieda will bid to extend his reign as the men's champion for a fifth consecutive time, while Sabine Ellerbrock will aim to add to the first Grand Slam title of her career that she won at Roland Garros in June. David Wagner will be attempting to win his third consecutive US Open quad singles title

The NEC Wheelchair Tennis Tour, organized by the ITF and sponsored by NEC, has one of the most advanced and far-reaching tournament calendars and ranking systems in international disability sport. The Tour includes wheelchair tennis events at all four Grand Slams, with total prize money of more than one million US dollars.

The 2013 NEC Wheelchair Tennis Tour started on January 2, 2013, with the Queensland Open in Australia. This year, the NEC Tour consists of more than 160 tournaments in over 30 countries.

The NEC Wheelchair Tennis Rankings are updated weekly by the ITF, with over 600 men, 190 women and 85 quad players from over 50 countries.

The NEC Wheelchair Tennis Tour has events at a variety of levels, from the ITF Futures Series through to the four Grand Slam events.

Following the US Open in New York, the top eight men's and women's players and top four quad players on the rankings of Monday, September 16, 2013 will qualify for the NEC Wheelchair Tennis Masters (*1) in Mission Viejo, California, in November.

The NEC Wheelchair Tennis Tour is part of the NEC Make-a-Difference Drive (*2) of volunteer opportunities for NEC employees. NEC members volunteer for the Tour in such positions as linespeople, ballpersons and interpreters.

Looking forward, NEC will continue to develop its role in the Wheelchair Tennis Tour as part of becoming a leading global company that leverages the power of innovation to realise an information society friendly to people and the earth.



*1) NEC Wheelchair Tennis Masters
The NEC Masters is the year-end championship for the world's top ranked singles players, held in Mission Viejo, California in November. NEC has sponsored the event since 1994.

*2) NEC-Make-a-Difference Drive
The "NEC Make-a-Difference Drive (NEC MDD)" is a volunteer program where NEC group employees participate in a wide variety of social contribution activities throughout the world. More than 55,000 employees all around the world took part in the MDD in the last fiscal year.

About NEC Corporation
NEC Corporation is a leader in the integration of IT and network technologies that benefit
businesses and people around the world. By providing a combination of products and solutions that cross utilize the company's experience and global resources, NEC's advanced technologies meet the complex and ever-changing needs of its customers. NEC brings more than 100 years of expertise in technological innovation to empower people, businesses and society. For more information, visit NEC at

NEC is a registered trademark of NEC Corporation. All Rights Reserved. Other product or service marks mentioned herein are the trademarks of their respective owners. (C)2013 NEC Corporation.