This is the top of the page.
Displaying present location in the site.
  1. Home
  2. About NEC
  3. Research & Development
  4. Introduction to Front Lines of NEC R&D
  5. Carbon Nanotube
  6. About Myself
  7. Biography
Main content starts here.

Carbon Nanotube



Sumio Iijima (Male)

NEC Corporation
Senior Research Fellow

Date of Birth

May 2, 1939

Professional Title and Affiliation

  • Senior Research Fellow, NEC Corporation
  • Professor, Meijo University
  • Honorary AIST Fellow, National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST)
  • Distinguished Invited University Professor, Nagoya University


  • 1959-1963University of Electro-communications, Tokyo, Bachelor of Engineering
  • 1963-1965Tohoku University, Sendai, Majoring in Physics; M.S.
  • 1965-1968Tohoku University, Sendai, Majoring in Physics; Ph.D

Professional Record

  • 1968-1974Research Associate, Research Institute for Scientific Measurements, Tohoku University, Sendai
  • 1970-1977Research Associate, Department of Physics, Arizona State University, Tempe, Arizona
  • 1977-1982Senior Research Associate, Center for Solid State Science, Arizona State University, Tempe, Arizona
  • 1979.3-1979.9Visiting Senior Scientist, Department of Metallurgy and Materials Science, University of Cambridge, Cambridge
  • 1982-1987Group Leader, ERATO Program, Research Development Corporation of Japan, Nagoya
  • 1987-PresentSenior Research Fellow, NEC Corporation, Tsukuba (Joined NEC in 1987 as Senior Principal Researcher)
  • 1999-PresentProfessor, Meijo University, Nagoya (Visiting Lecturer, 1998 - 1999)
  • 2001-2015Director, Nanotube Research Center, National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST), Tsukuba
  • 2005-2012Dean, Sungkyunkwan University, Advanced Institute of Nanotechnology (SAINT)
  • 2007-PresentDistinguished Invited University Professor of Nagoya University, Nagoya
  • 2015-PresentHonorary AIST Fellow, National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST)

Research Projects

  • 1995-1998Research Coordinator, NEDO/International Projects "Studies on nanometer-scale tubular materials: growth, production, characterization, and properties" Project
  • 1998-2002Research Director, JST/ICORP "Nanotubulites" Project
  • 2002-2006Project Leader, NEDO "Advanced Nanocarbon Application Project"
  • 2002-2006Program Leader, MEXT/21st Century COE Program "Nano Factory"
  • 2003-2008Research Director, JST/SORST "Iijima Team"
  • 2006-2009Project Leader, NEDO “Carbon Nanotube Capacitor Development Project”

Honors, Awards

  • 1976Bertram Eugene Warren Diffraction Physics Award, The American Crystallography Society
  • 1980Seto Award, The Japanese Society of Electron Microscopy
  • 1985The Crystallographic Society of Japan Award (The Crystallographic Society of Japan)
  • 1985Nishina Memorial Award (The Nishina Memorial Foundation, Japan)
  • 1986Minister Award (The Agency of Science and Technology, Japan)
  • 1986Minister Award (The Agency of Science and Technology, Japan)
  • 1986Best Paper Award (The Japan Society for Applied Physics)
  • 1989Ban Memorial Award (The Ban Memorial Committee, Japan)
  • 1996Asahi Award (The Asahi Shinbun Cultural Foundation, Japan)
  • 1998Tsukuba Prize (The Science and Technology Promotion Foundation of Ibaraki, Japan)
  • 2001Ishikawa Carbon Award (Ishikawa Carbon Science and Technology Promotion Foundation, Japan)
  • 2002J.C.McGroddy Prize for New Materials (American Physical Society, USA)
  • 2002Agilent Europhysics Prize (European Physical Society)
  • 2002Benjamin Franklin Medal in Physics (The Franklin Institute, USA)
  • 2002Honorary Doctor of the University of Antwerp
  • 2002Chunichi Bunka Award (Chunichi Shimbun Co., Ltd., Japan)
  • 2002The Mukai Award (Tokyo Ohka Foundation for the Promotion of Science and Technology, Japan)
  • 2002Japan Academy Award and Imperial Award (The Japan Academy)
  • 2003The JSAP Outstanding Achievement Award (The Japan Society of Applied Physics)
  • 2003Honorary Doctor of Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne (EPFL)
  • 2003Person of Cultural Merits (Japanese Government)
  • 2004Honda Frontier Award (Honda Memorial Foundation, Japan)
  • 2004The Society's Medal of Achievement in Carbon Science and Technology (The American Carbon Society, USA)
  • 2005Distinguished Scientist Award, Physical Sciences (Microscopy Society of America)
  • 2005Honorary Professor of Xi'an Jiaotong University
  • 2005Honorary Professor of Peking University
  • 2006The John M. Cowley Medal 2006 (The International Federation of Societies for Microscopy)
  • 2007Gregori Aminoff Prize in crystallography 2007 (Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences)
  • 2007Fujiwara Award (The Fujihara Foundation of Science, Japan)
  • 2007Foreign Associate of The National Academy of Sciences
  • 20072007 Balzan Prize for Nanoscience (International Balzan Prize Foundation, Italy)
  • 2008The 2008 Plueddemann Award (Case Western University)
  • 2008The First Richard E. Smalley Research Award (The Electrochemical Society, USA) and Others
  • 2008The Kavli Prize Nanoscience 2008 (The Kavli Foundation, Norway)
  • 2008The Prince of Asturias Award for Technical Scientific Research 2008 (The Prince of Asturias Foundation, Spain)
  • 2008Economist Innovation Awards "No Boundaries" (The Economist, UK)
  • 2009Foreign Member of The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters
  • 2009Honorary Professor of Tsinghua University
  • 2009Order of Cultural Merits (Japanese Govenment)
  • 2011.12Foreign Fellow, Chinese Academy of Science
  • 2013Gold Medal (Slovak Academy of Sciences)
  • 2013Honorary Professor of Shanghai Jiao Tong University
  • 2014Honorary Professor of Aalto University
  • 2015.6European Inventor Award (European Patent Office, Germany)
  • 2015.9Diamond and Carbon Materials Award 2015 (The International conference on Diamond and Carbon Materials)
    and others
  • 2015.10The Nishikawa Prize (The Crystallographic Society of Japan)
  • 2016.5The 21st Century Encouragement of Invention Prize (Japan Institute of Invention and Innovation)
  • and others

Distinguished Lectures

  • 1997.5Friday Evening Discourse, The Royal Institution of Great Britain
  • 2003.4Van Horn Lecture, Case Western Reserve University
  • 2007.5Bodo von Borries Lecture 2007 (Universität Tübingen)
  • 2008.1DOW lecture, Northwestern University
  • 2008.7Nagoya university lecture, Nagoya University
  • 2008.10W.H. Bragg Lecture 2008, University College London
  • 2008.12George Pimentel Memorial Lecture (U.C. Berkeley, USA)
  • 2009.6Tsinghua Global Vision Lecture (Tsinghua University, China)
  • 2010.3Materials Science and Engineering Seminar Speaker (MIT, USA)
  • 2010.3William Spitzer Lecture (University of Southern California, USA)
  • 2011.10The 2011 Evans Lecture (The Ohio State University, USA)
  • 2013.12Einstein Lectureship (Institute of Metal Research, CAS, China)
  • 2013.12Einstein Lectureship (Shanghai University of Science and Technology, C2011: Foreign Fellow, Chinese Academy of Science
  • 2015.3Global Lecture Series (Zhejiang University, China)
  • 2015.11LUOJIA expert forum of Wuhan University (Wuhan University, China)

Editors and Advisory board members

  • Journal of microscopy, Editorial Board
  • Journal of electron microscopy, Advisory Board
  • Journal of Applied Physics, Advisory Board
  • Journal National Science Review, Advisory Board
  • Nanostructured materials, Associate Editor
  • Chemical Physics Letters, Advisory Board
  • Carbon, Honorary Advisory Board
  • Small, Honorary Members
  • Nano, Chief Editor (-2013)
  • Ultramicroscopy, Advisory Editorial Board (-2010)
  • ISSS-5, Advisory Committee

Research Fields

  • Crystallography, Electron microscopy, Materials Science, Nano Science

Top of this page